Welcome to China Media World

Discover the Fascinating 12 Animals of the Chinese Calendar

Neta Brint

  • Table of Contents

Within over five thousand years of history, we are using a lunar calendar to celebrate seasoning holidays and keep the sense of family and respect for elders. The Chinese tradition has 12 Zodiac signs named after 12 animals to represent the years, each in turn: Rat, Ox, Tiger, Rabbit, Dragon, Snake, Horse, Goat, Monkey, Rooster, Dog and Pig. And

Why were those animals selected?

A long time ago, during the reign of Emperor Jade, the ruler of all Gods within Chinese mythology, he wished to celebrate his birthday and find a way to measure time. So he sent out the message to all animals. On that specific day, the first 12 animals who succeeded in crossing the river will be chosen to become the animals in the calendar, following the result of the crossing arrival order. Then, after the event, those 12 animals became the embassy of the year; each one gets a year mandate every 11 years.

My name is Neta, and I am a sinologist, which means I am passionate about Chinese people, media, culture, and economy while catching up with trends in China. I use this platform to share with you my passion in a fun and accessible way.